Guidance of a Father

I remember as a little kid looking at people who were older than me and, based off of what I saw, I developed a very specific kind of worldview.  The way I saw it was that your parents raise you, you grow up in their home under their guidance, and then you become an adult and leave and live your life without any outside guidance.  As a kid, I was semi-right in what I observed.  The world is full of people who receive no guidance when they leave their home.  This is the life that I, along with probably every American teenager out there, wanted.

 

I grew up in a family in which my dad was a Southern Baptist preacher.  I accepted Christ as my personal Lord and Savior at the age of six, got baptized when I was nine, and went on to live to normal “preacher’s kid” life of being in church every time the doors were opened.  My dad gave me a lot of guidance growing up, not just in regards to spiritual issues, but also in regards to issues such as yard work, how to act in public, how to treat others, how to make smart decisions with money, school, and other things.  As I grew up and my dad instilled these values within me, I also had a sense of rebellion against my dad.  I wanted to be different than him.  Why?  Because every teenager wants to be different than their parents.  As I got older I began to get tired of the rules and the lifestyle that my dad was having me live.  In the deepest parts of my heart I knew he was doing his best to do the right thing for me, but I longed for that day when college hit and I could be free from his grasp.

 

That day finally came when I moved off to college.  I was so excited for this day because I could finally make almost all of my decisions for myself and not have my father’s guidance.  It didn’t take me very long to realize a few things.

 

  1. My dad was right in almost every decision he made for me my entire life.
  2. This life of doing whatever I wanted was not all that it was cracked up to be.
  3. I still needed guidance from my father, and it just simply wasn’t as convenient anymore.

 

As I reflected on my life, I realized that the one big thing I was missing was my relationship with God.  While it may be less convenient to get guidance from my dad now, it is always extremely convenient to get guidance from my Heavenly Father.  As I develop my views on religion, I try to keep this principle at the core of who I am.  In high school I never read my Bible.  In college, now, I have to drink from God’s Word every day to gain knowledge, wisdom, and most importantly, guidance.  While I was blessed to have such a great father, I cannot express how even more blessed I am to have such a great Heavenly Father.  This life is absolutely meaningless if it lacks guidance.  My view as a small child was that adults had it all together and knew everything there was to know about life.  My view now is that, no matter how old you get, you will ALWAYS need guidance from the Father.

 

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”

-Psalm 32:8

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

