Weird Christians

Image

 

My personal definition of a Weird Christian is someone who misses the point of Christianity.  If you are a Christian who doesn’t focus on what Christianity is all about, then that’s weird!  If the purpose of Christianity is to enforce rules that don’t really apply to the Bible, like the Mennonite church does, then this is nothing short of legalism.  I would classify the Mennonite church as a section of “Weird Christianity.”  The instance that I described above is not what Christians should be trying to enforce.

 

Now, I am not going to focus on calling out certain religious groups and throw them into the “Weird Christians” category.  This would take me forever, because almost all groups would fall into that category in some way or form.  I think it’s important to address the fact that conservative Christianity and liberal Christianity can both be considered Weird Christianity.  But I think it’s very interesting how some people think very secondary issues of Christianity are essential for the Christian doctrine.  

 

Here’s why I am not a conservative Christian:

 

  1. I don’t like being apart of a church that makes me feel obligated to dress a certain way.
  2. I don’t like churches that condemn tattoos, piercings, and other body modifications.
  3. I don’t think our government should legislate issues of righteousness.
  4. I prefer to worship with many different forms of music, not just one specific type.
  5. I don’t think you have to be apart of a certain denomination in order to be saved.
  6. I believe that the earth is over 4 billion years old and we share common ancestry with every other living thing on this planet.
  7. I believe we should be open to questioning all aspects of our faith, including issues like the existence of God.

 

Now, this may be extreme in some circumstances, but the problem is that there are some people who think these issues are essential!  That’s weird!  Why should any of the stuff I listed above matter to any great degree at all?  To me, that’s just plain weird.

 

Now, here’s why I am not a liberal Christian:

 

  1. I think abortion is wrong in all circumstances.
  2. I think homosexuality is a sinful behavior.
  3. I do not believe that there is more than one way to get to heaven.
  4. I think certain issues need to remain traditional, instead of progressing.
  5. I do not think we should be open-minded to every single issue.  (Some issues are straight up unbiblical.)

 

Now, if you are extremely liberal in your ideology to the point where you abandon certain teachings of Christ to conform to our modern culture, then that’s weird!

 

So, how can you avoid the label of “Weird Christian?”  The answer is, you can’t.  We are all Weird Christians because NOBODY fully gets the purpose of Christianity!  God gave us two very simple, yet very complicated commandments to keep:  1.  Love God.  2.  Love People.  It sounds so simple, but it’s not!  We all fail at this every day, and that’s really weird.  What we CAN do is make Christianity less weird.

 

If, as a church, we allow our faith to rest on these above points of liberal and conservative Christianity, then we are being extremely weird Christians.  We need to focus on one key aspect of Christianity, and that is fulfilling God’s commandments.  If we do this in a proper, biblical manner, then all of the other things will play out.  What we should not do is set a standard of rules and regulations that Christians HAVE to follow, because doing so would be completely dishonoring to the Christian doctrine.  On the other hand, we also shouldn’t abandon traditional values and certain ways of thinking, because doing so could also contribute to us missing the point of the gospel.  We need to allow our faith to progress, but at the same time not lose sight of what the gospel is truly about.  Only then will we have the full picture of what exactly true Christianity is.

 

Leave a Reply

