Why I Am a Christian.

Image

 

 

Since today is Christmas I figured I better post something about my own personal spiritual experiences.  After all, the purpose of Christmas is to celebrate the coming of Jesus, who is the Messiah who established the foundation for Christianity, and Christianity has certainly played a vital role in my life.  So, many people ask me why I’m a Christian.  I have to admit that it’s not always the most simple and straightforward answer to give, because there are many reasons that have led to my faith in Christ.  However, I guess the first place to start is with my parents.  I am a Christian because of my parents.  There may be nothing remarkable about that, and often times I, or many other Christians, would not like to admit that truth.  I am a Christian because my parents are Christians, and that’s what they raised me to believe, just like Jesus was a Jew because His parents were Jews.  Had I been born into an Islamic family, I would probably be a Muslim.  Yes, this is not the story for every Christian, but it is definitely the story for me.  But should that be where my faith rests on?

 

The purpose of me writing these blogs is for me to communicate what I believe is the truth from a Christian philosophical standpoint.  I cover many issues not just in philosophy, but in history and science as well.  But all of that is pointless if I am not achieving a greater goal, or at least trying to.  The all around truth of the Christian faith is one that has done more for me in my life than any form of apologetics, by itself, can.  Apologetics creates a new way to experience God and share His Word, but we are at a loss if this is all we get.  Yes apologetics has helped me make and develop my faith on my own, but it is only another piece to the whole puzzle.

 

However, I feel as if there is one piece to the puzzle that is bigger than all the rest.  Had Jesus not been there in the first place, there would be no purpose to any of this “Christianity” stuff.  God blessed me with great parents, who raised me in a Christian home, great Christian friends, and great Christian mentors, all who God used to ultimately bring me to Him, so that He could help me realize my need for salvation.  Without that, Christmas really has no meaning at all.  Apologetics and other Christian philosophical ideas have certainly changed my perspective and caused me to grow, but the basis of all of that is something that transcends beyond.

 

On this Christmas, if you are not a Christian, I pray that God will come into your life and radically change your perspective.  If you are a Christian, remember the reasons why you are a Christian, and remember why the reason why Christmas is such a remarkable holiday.

 

 

Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel. 

 Isaiah 7:14

Leave a Reply

