My Views on Denominations

Image

 

 

Recently a friend asked me to write a post on my denominational background and why I affiliate myself with that.  I will say, this may be kind of a difficult post to write, as I am not completely sure of my stance on every issue.  I am going to talk a little bit about denominations and what my view on them is.

First of all, I’ll give a little bit of background information on myself.  I was born into a very solid Southern Baptist home.  Anytime the doors were open, I went to church.  My dad, being a preacher, is very passionate about church and being a Southern Baptist.  Also, I go to a Baptist liberal arts university.  Now, when talking about denominations it is important for me to reconcile my beliefs with the proper kind of denomination.  For me, I have to say I am kind of undecided on this issue.  Over the years many of my views on Christianity have changed with my studies on apologetics.  Does this mean I should switch my denomination?  To this I answer, I don’t know.

Since I’ve gotten to college I have been doing something I was not able to do in the past.  Check out other denominations and see how other people worshipped.  I have been to Baptist, Episcopalian, Non-Denominational, Assemblies of God, etc.  I find all of them to be very good sects of Christianity.  Some are better in certain ways than others, but that is expected.  So, one question comes up.  Is any one denomination better than another?  And to this I answer, no.  To say that one is, is a direct misunderstanding of Christianity and its teachings.  I am a Christian, but I am not sure which sect to place myself under yet.  Regardless, I will never accept the answer that one denomination is better than another.

Now, I do need to separate denominations from cults and other churches that preach heretical teachings.  The Mormon Church and the Jehovah’s Witnesses do NOT fall under Christianity due to the heresy and false teaching that they bring to the church.  When talking about a proper section of Christianity we need to establish some points that cannot be disputed.

  1. There is only one God who created and reigns over everything.
  2. We are all sinners in need of a savior.
  3. This Savior is Jesus, the Son of God.
  4. Jesus came down in the form of a man and He was born of a virgin.
  5. He died, rose again, and is coming back again someday.
  6. Anyone who does not accept His gift of Salvation will be separated from Him for eternity.

 

If a church holds these views, then I am not at liberty to say that it is “better” than another church that holds these views.  Yes, people hold different views (and that is okay) but that should not separate us as Christians when discussing issues like denominations.

Leave a Reply

