Abortion

Here we go.  This is one of the biggest issues that our country is facing today.  Should we, as human beings, have the right to chooses whether an unborn child lives, or dies.  The dictionary definition of abortion is “the termination of a pregnancy after, accompanied by, resulting in, or closely followed by the death of the embryo or fetus.”  So that is pretty plain and simple.  The DEATH of an embryo.  I’ll go ahead and start off this post with a little bit of background information on how I have viewed abortion over the years.

I was blessed to be raised in a home with two loving parents who have shared the Christian faith with me from a very young age.  However, I was not even introduced to the term “abortion” until I was in early junior high, when I became very interested in religion and politics.  I didn’t have to do much research or talk to my parents about this issue to decide where I stood on it.  Abortion was murder.  It was plain and simple.  But I figured it would be best to look at the other side of this issue to make sure I didn’t have a biased opinion.

I started to become very passionate about this issue just a few months ago.  I was sitting in my Worldview class at Shiloh Christian School, just trying to make it through the rest of my senior year, when my teacher brings up the topic of abortion.  I was interested to find that many of my classmates were Pro-Choice.  I heard their arguments and they heard mine and the rest of the day, it was just kind of a classroom debate.  This got me really interested.  The next day we walk in and my teacher tells us that he will be showing a small clip of an abortion and the aftermath.  He told us to not watch it if we are disturbed easily, and he did not undersell it.  Everybody watched.  The clip was about ninety seconds and that was all I needed to see.  The next paragraph will have very graphic imagery as I describe what was in the clip, so if you are easily disturbed, go ahead and skip over it.

The clip started off with simply showing a fetus in the womb.  It nothing weird or abnormal seemed to happen in the first fifteen seconds or so, and then the baby started struggling.  I could tell that this child was in pain and then the camera immediately switched to the baby being ripped brutally from his mother’s womb.  It then shows a clip of the doctor’s hand as it turns over to reveal this baby’s decapitated skull.  It then shows the rest of his body parts, all chopped up into little pieces, and then they are thrown into a trash can, with many other body parts of other children that had been killed.

After the clip was over, everybody just sat there in silence.  Even I, who can typically handle things like this easily, was deeply disturbed, and i couldn’t find myself to say anything.  I got home and thought long and hard about what I had just seen and it only fueled my anger toward abortion even more.  I had to find out more about this.

Abortion first became legal in 1972 and the big argument back then was trying to answer the question “Is it life?”  This is not a hard question to answer, and it can be answered by simple scientific analysis.  From the moment that the sperm touches the egg, there is life.  This has been a very complicated issue for the Pro-Choice advocates to get around.  And so, what do they do?  They change the argument.  The issue is not even about life anymore, it’s about women’s rights.  I remember in our past presidential election, Mitt Romney was lashed out against by the Democratic Party about having no respect for women for his stance on abortion.  I almost laugh when I hear this argument.  Are we really so foolish as to allow innocent children to be killed, and not only killed, but brutally slaughtered, to protect a right of another human being.  I wish I could say that we are not that foolish.  And to make it even more sickening, the doctors are not doing this because they think they are doing a good deed, but to gain a profit.  Many doctors and clinics have admitted to their belief that abortion is murder, and they do it anyway because it is good profit.  Women have testified to post-traumatic stress disorder, suicidal thoughts or actions, and extreme depression over abortion, and yet these women are continuing to be targeted.  This is a sick and twisted business that makes me upset and worried for the future of our country.  I would hope that a multi-billion dollar industry that is run on killing unborn children would at least spark some motivation to do something about it in the lives of other people.

Now,  we need to talk about this from a Christian perspective.  The Bible does not directly say anything about abortion.  It does, however, talk many times about murder.  It is talking about human beings directly.  But what constitutes a human?  There is a common argument used by Pro-Lifers called the SLED argument.  There are four differences between fully developed human beings and developing human beings.

S- Size.  We do not base the quality of a human being on their size.  Shorter people are not inferior to taller people.  That is known as ridiculousness to anybody with a rational mind.

L- Level of development.  It is true that a fetus is far more undeveloped than a fully grown human.  But should make the claim that they are not human because of this factor?  No!   A six year old child is way more undeveloped than an adult, and we don’t kill six year old children to make a profit!  I myself, a nineteen year old college student am more undeveloped than an adult who is ten years older than me, but that says nothing about my quality of life compared to theirs.

E- Environment.  This is a simple one.  Location.  A fetus is in the womb, a fully grown human is out of the womb.  I am sitting in my room typing this blog post, you are somewhere else doing something else.  Location has no factor in the quality of life.

D- Degree of dependency.  Yes, a fetus needs more dependency than an adult, but a child needs more dependency that an adult also.  The elderly also need more help than people who are of younger age.  Degree of dependency should not matter when we talk about the quality of life.

So, as you can see, there is not a major difference between a developing fetus and a fully grown human being.  So when the Bible talks about murder, it is referring to ALL murder of ALL human beings!  It doesn’t matter if they are developed or undeveloped, the quality of life does remain the same.  Psalm 139: 13-14 is a beautiful verse in relation to this topic.

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

To abort a child is to slice through the beautiful, precious creation of God and corrupt it for our own personal gain.  I hope and pray that our nation, and our world, can one day come to the understanding of what abortion is, and the effect it has on women, our culture, unborn children, and our one and only God.

Thank you, and God bless.

2 thoughts on “Abortion

  1. Thank you for bringing up such a sensitive topic in a very calm manner. That creates an easy and respectful forum for discussion.
    I have a couple of questions and I hope you take serious time thinking about them.
    1/of you are pro-life, are you pro-life until they are born, pro-life until they turn 18 and go to the military, pro-life until they commit a crime so horrible they face capital punishment, or are you pro-life period? I support your choice of being pro-life as long as you choose the last item. But if you dont, I personally cannot take that belief seriously.
    2/the moment the sperm cell enters the egg, is the “baby”‘s nerves and brain instantaneously formed and he starts growing? Or is it just a bundle of cells splitting and starting to BEGIN the PROCESS of life? Most pro-choice advocates have a limit to when is too much growth.
    3/if a lady gets raped and gets pregnant, is she held responsible to have the kid even if she is at risk of dying? Which life is more important, hers or the bundle of cells?
    There are tons of more questions and reasons I have that help form my pro-choice belief. But I am interested in hearing your responses to those in particular

    • Let me answer the last point first because I want to address your choice of words. You refer to the fetus as a “bundle of cells.” I would like to make the point that a fully grown human being is just a “bundle of cells.” So the question still stands, should it be the woman’s life or the baby’s life? They are of both equal importance. If she is raped and at risk of dying, I still think it is important to let it play out and see what happens, because I think the greatest moral wrong would be to actively kill off another life. There have been many situations where the mother has been at risk of dying, but the baby was born, healthy, and the mother ended up being fine. Now to your second point. I do not know all of the science behind it, but regardless I believe that where there is human life, there is a human soul. Where there is a human soul, that soul has the life to live and thrive. They may not have all the nerves and the brain capacity to think like fully grown humans, but an actual born baby doesn’t have the capacity to think like a fully grown human. I believe that that factor in it of itself should not be a deciding factor for who should live and who should die. And on your first point. I am not sure I understand your point about going into the military at 18, but if somebody commits the crime of murder, I think it should be the decision of the government to decide whether that person can live or die. I believe that on a strictly biblical basis. I want to make the point though that I am not Pro Life because I want to restrict the rights of others, what I am trying to do is support a society that chooses who lives and who dies on a strictly BIBLICAL basis. If you want more information on my beliefs about that, feel free to contact me on Facebook or something.

Leave a Reply

